LaTeX forum ⇒ Texmaker and TeXstudioconfiguring texmaker

Information and discussion about Texmaker, an integrated LaTeX environment for several platforms, and the related TeXstudio
kanthgs
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:50 pm

configuring texmaker

Postby kanthgs » Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:43 am

Hi,

I have configuered texmaker and in quick build options I have selected "pdfLatex+view Pdf", But after compiling, Pdf file does't open automatically. I need to go to the folder and open it. One more thing is, If the respective Pdf file is open, instead of over righting it, compiler gives lot of error messages. Please someone help me in this regard.


Thanks in advance,


Shivakanth.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

leonardo
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:17 pm

Postby leonardo » Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:20 pm

Have you configured the path for the pdfviewer? It is the 10^th item of the configuration widget.
LO

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

fuchi8
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:16 pm

Postby fuchi8 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 6:21 pm

hi, i've got the same problem and i selected the path for the pdf viewer (i use Preview in the applications folder) but it doesn't work; then i get a lot of errors about the control sequence but the command are corrects (\begin, \usepackage...).

Could someone help me?

valentina

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

eumetaxas
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 8:31 am

Postby eumetaxas » Thu May 29, 2008 3:06 pm

i am using texmaker for a year now. this works perfectly on LINUX but never manage to work it on windows and tried lots of solutions

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
T3.
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:58 pm

Postby T3. » Thu May 29, 2008 4:19 pm

Quick check on my system (Vista 32bit) shows that quick build with "pdfLatex+view Pdf" works as desired. How did you configure texmaker?

As for overwriting open files - it cannot be done if you use Acrobat Reader as your viewer because it locks open files so that pdftex cannot write on them. You always have to close them. This can be automated by using DDE interface of acroread but unfortunately texmaker does not have support for DDE (but e.g. TeXnicCenter does) so you might consider different text editor or different pdf viewer.

Cheers,

Tomek

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

eumetaxas
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 8:31 am

Postby eumetaxas » Thu May 29, 2008 5:06 pm

thanx for the answer!

in commands tab for pdfviewer
"C:/Program Files/Adobe/Reader 8.0/Reader/AcroRd32.exe" %.pdf

and the same command in users quick build option. It does not open the file if any other pdf file is opened at the momment. Says document not found or something similar.

Thanx again!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
T3.
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:58 pm

Postby T3. » Thu May 29, 2008 6:26 pm

OK, issue confirmed. It seems that acrobat likes when files are given with full path. Unfortunately I don't see any option in texmaker to specify full path in configuration of called programs. As a workaround you can launch acro through a batch script wrapper like this:
  1. @start "" "C:\path\to\where\you\have\AcroRd32.exe" "%~f1"

This will make sure that full path to a .pdf file is given. Save the above line in 'viewpdf.bat' and specify it in texmaker configuration instead of acroread.

Cheers,

Tomek
Last edited by T3. on Thu May 29, 2008 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

eumetaxas
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 8:31 am

Postby eumetaxas » Thu May 29, 2008 7:01 pm

thanx!!!!!!!!
worked like a charm!
thank you!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

gugulanul
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:41 pm

Postby gugulanul » Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:50 pm

Hi!

I had the same problem, acroread (launched from TexMaker) couldn't find the file to open. The issue was the same, acroread wanted the absolute path to the file. I had some pdf file still opened from another directory. After I closed all my acroreads and hit the TexMaker quickbuild button, it compiled and opend my pdf.

Nevertheless, the solution with the script is very nice.

See you!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

anasazi
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:48 pm

Postby anasazi » Thu Jul 15, 2010 10:51 pm

Dear all,

I have exactly the same problem.. However I have no idea how I should do what you describe .. here are my qestions :

- Where should I go to configure the path ?
and
-What should I write there

Pardon me and thanks in advance :D

Yannis

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Return to “Texmaker and TeXstudio”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests