Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

configuring texmaker

Add tags Information and discussion about Texmaker, an integrated LaTeX environment for several platforms

configuring texmaker

Postby kanthgs on Tue Mar 13th, 2007

Hi,

I have configuered texmaker and in quick build options I have selected "pdfLatex+view Pdf", But after compiling, Pdf file does't open automatically. I need to go to the folder and open it. One more thing is, If the respective Pdf file is open, instead of over righting it, compiler gives lot of error messages. Please someone help me in this regard.


Thanks in advance,


Shivakanth.
kanthgs
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 12th, 2007

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby leonardo on Mon Mar 19th, 2007

Have you configured the path for the pdfviewer? It is the 10^th item of the configuration widget.
LO
leonardo
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 19th, 2007

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby fuchi8 on Wed Mar 19th, 2008

hi, i've got the same problem and i selected the path for the pdf viewer (i use Preview in the applications folder) but it doesn't work; then i get a lot of errors about the control sequence but the command are corrects (\begin, \usepackage...).

Could someone help me?

valentina
fuchi8
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 19th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby eumetaxas on Thu May 29th, 2008

i am using texmaker for a year now. this works perfectly on LINUX but never manage to work it on windows and tried lots of solutions
eumetaxas
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby T3. on Thu May 29th, 2008

Quick check on my system (Vista 32bit) shows that quick build with "pdfLatex+view Pdf" works as desired. How did you configure texmaker?

As for overwriting open files - it cannot be done if you use Acrobat Reader as your viewer because it locks open files so that pdftex cannot write on them. You always have to close them. This can be automated by using DDE interface of acroread but unfortunately texmaker does not have support for DDE (but e.g. TeXnicCenter does) so you might consider different text editor or different pdf viewer.

Cheers,

Tomek
User avatar
T3.
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Mar 14th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby eumetaxas on Thu May 29th, 2008

thanx for the answer!

in commands tab for pdfviewer
"C:/Program Files/Adobe/Reader 8.0/Reader/AcroRd32.exe" %.pdf

and the same command in users quick build option. It does not open the file if any other pdf file is opened at the momment. Says document not found or something similar.

Thanx again!
eumetaxas
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby T3. on Thu May 29th, 2008

OK, issue confirmed. It seems that acrobat likes when files are given with full path. Unfortunately I don't see any option in texmaker to specify full path in configuration of called programs. As a workaround you can launch acro through a batch script wrapper like this:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
@start "" "C:\path\to\where\you\have\AcroRd32.exe" "%~f1"

This will make sure that full path to a .pdf file is given. Save the above line in 'viewpdf.bat' and specify it in texmaker configuration instead of acroread.

Cheers,

Tomek
Last edited by T3. on Thu May 29th, 2008, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
T3.
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Fri Mar 14th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby eumetaxas on Thu May 29th, 2008

thanx!!!!!!!!
worked like a charm!
thank you!
eumetaxas
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed May 28th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby gugulanul on Fri Jun 20th, 2008

Hi!

I had the same problem, acroread (launched from TexMaker) couldn't find the file to open. The issue was the same, acroread wanted the absolute path to the file. I had some pdf file still opened from another directory. After I closed all my acroreads and hit the TexMaker quickbuild button, it compiled and opend my pdf.

Nevertheless, the solution with the script is very nice.

See you!
gugulanul
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 20th, 2008

Re: configuring texmaker

Postby anasazi on Thu Jul 15th, 2010

Dear all,

I have exactly the same problem.. However I have no idea how I should do what you describe .. here are my qestions :

- Where should I go to configure the path ?
and
-What should I write there

Pardon me and thanks in advance :D

Yannis
anasazi
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 15th, 2010


Return to Texmaker

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests