Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error Topic is solved

AcrobatAdobe-ReaderTeXnicCenterAdd tags Information and discussion about output viewers related to LaTeX (e.g. Adobe Reader, Ghostview, YAP, ...)

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby localghost on Wed Nov 24th, 2010

Neverwinterx wrote: As the poster above says, this is a workaround. An explanation, or even better a solution, for why the DDE commands aren't working would be better. […]

There was no talk of a workaround before my post and your approach appeared as a solution. Therefore you have been notified to mark the topic accordingly. A simple remark that this is not what you wanted would have been enough.

Regarding the problem a possible solution is to roll back the Adobe Reader (AR) to a version of the 9er series. But since the AR is not the best product to work with (La)TeX editors, it's worth a thought to use another PDF viewer like »Sumatra PDF«. A search in the forum will yield much useful information about its advantages and how to make it work with different editors.
Neverwinterx wrote:[…] You should get off your high horse by the way.

You seem to have difficulties with directions of a moderator to enforce the rules. I recommend to talk less big, read the rules and something about netiquette. It still applies that the topic shall be marked as soon as the problem is solved. And by the way, every board member is allowed to refer you to the rules if necessary.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby blondie on Thu Nov 25th, 2010

alt +F7
viewer
\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe
* view project's output
select command line argument
command : write just "%bm.pdf"
* forward search
select command line argument
command : write just "%bm.pdf"

ok

I had the same problem. I changed this settings and now, everything is all right
blondie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 25th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Fri Nov 26th, 2010

In analogy to an existing description of how to implement Foxit reader into TeXnicCenter here is another solution. With this one you will be able to recompile your document, even if you have it still opened in the viewer.

Create 2 files in your Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader\ path:

TeXReader.vbs

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
set shell = wscript.createobject("wscript.shell")
Set Args = WScript.Arguments

For i = 0 to Args.Count - 1
   Params = Params + Chr(32) + Args(i)
Next

shell.run """C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader\TeXReader.bat """+ Params,0,true


TeXReader.bat
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
@echo off
if "%1"=="close" goto TASKKILL
goto OPEN

:TASKKILL
taskkill /fi "windowtitle eq %2*"
goto END

:OPEN
Start C:\Progra~1\Adobe\Reader~1.0\Reader\AcroRd32.exe %1 %2

:END


Make sure you updated the paths according to your installation. Please note that you have to use the 8.3 notation for the TeXReader.bat file.
You can get the 8.3 path of a folder by using "dir /w" in the shell.

Now all you need to do is update your TeXnicCenter profiles.
As program path use:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
wscript.exe "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 10.0\Reader\TeXReader.vbs"

but again, change your path accordingly.

With that you can now use the following comand line calls:

For opening your document
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
"%bm.pdf"


For close before compiling
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
close "%tm.pdf"


It should work, but feel free to let me know if not.
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Fri Nov 26th, 2010

:lol:
Ok forget the post above, Adobe just changed the name of the DDE server:

Please change your application to use following servername for Acrobat/Reader instead of "acroview" try the following:
For Reader X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewR10
For Acrobat X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewA10


This should be the final solution... :ugeek:
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby phoeniks on Fri Dec 10th, 2010

nca wrote::lol:
Ok forget the post above, Adobe just changed the name of the DDE server:

Please change your application to use following servername for Acrobat/Reader instead of "acroview" try the following:
For Reader X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewR10
For Acrobat X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewA10


This should be the final solution... :ugeek:


This appears to be the official and correct solution. Worked for me too. Thanks! :D

Such a pointless change for Adobe to have made, causing so much trouble, and they don't even officially notify their users... sigh.
phoeniks
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Dec 10th, 2010
Location: South Africa

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby kentor on Mon Dec 20th, 2010

phoeniks wrote:
nca wrote::lol:
Ok forget the post above, Adobe just changed the name of the DDE server:

Please change your application to use following servername for Acrobat/Reader instead of "acroview" try the following:
For Reader X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewR10
For Acrobat X Use DDE_SERVERNAME = acroviewA10


This should be the final solution... :ugeek:


This appears to be the official and correct solution. Worked for me too. Thanks! :D

Such a pointless change for Adobe to have made, causing so much trouble, and they don't even officially notify their users... sigh.


I am still getting the error in the OP even with those settings.

I also tried acroviewA10, and acroview with no luck. The registry value for HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT/acrobat/shell/open/ddeexec/appliation is Acroview

Edit: I changed the above registry value to AcroviewR10 and changed the DDE settings to AcroviewR10 in TeXNicCenter and it works now.
Attachments
TXC-ARX.png
TeXnicCenter settings for Adobe Reader X.
TXC-ARX.png (26.14 KiB) Viewed 29484 times
kentor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 20th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Wed Dec 22nd, 2010

This seems to be a bug in the reader update, it just don't change the registry entry.
According to the previously posted thread in the adobe forums, the DDE server name will from now on change with every major reader update. :cry:

So if you installed reader 11 in a distant future change the DDE server accordingly. (acroviewR11, etc.) ;)
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Neverwinterx on Sat Feb 12th, 2011

nca wrote:This seems to be a bug in the reader update, it just don't change the registry entry.
According to the previously posted thread in the adobe forums, the DDE server name will from now on change with every major reader update. :cry:

So if you installed reader 11 in a distant future change the DDE server accordingly. (acroviewR11, etc.) ;)


It seems they even change it with minor updates. Adobe reader updated to 10.0.1 here and acroviewR10 no longer works. Any idea what the new name is? I tried acroviewR10.0.1, acroviewR1001, acroviewR10_0_1 ...
Neverwinterx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 20th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Montag on Sun Feb 13th, 2011

For anyone wanting to use another version, you could visit

ftp://ftp.adobe.com/pub/adobe/reader/win/ (the official public Adobe ftp server)

Maybe this helps a bit, although it doesn't offer a solution for correctly configuring the Adobe Reader X. :/
OS: Win 7 64-bit LaTeX: MikTeX 2.9 64-bit Editor: TXC 1 RC1
Montag
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Jul 15th, 2009

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby localghost on Sun Feb 13th, 2011

Neverwinterx wrote: It seems they even change it with minor updates. Adobe reader updated to 10.0.1 here and acroviewR10 no longer works. Any idea what the new name is? I tried acroviewR10.0.1, acroviewR1001, acroviewR10_0_1 ...

Very unlikely. The settings as given above still work as expected. Tested here on Wind0ws XP SP3 with AR 10.0.1 in combination with TXC1RC1 and TXC2alpha3. Seems to depend on the operating system.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

PreviousNext

Topic Tags

AcrobatAdobe-ReaderTeXnicCenter

Return to Viewers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest