Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Add tags Information and discussion about output viewers related to LaTeX (e.g. Adobe Reader, Ghostview, YAP, ...)

Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby MartinC on Wed Jan 17th, 2007

DDE commands don't work very well with Adobe Reader 8.0. In particular, DocClose makes Reader crash. I had no problem with 7.0 but still I would like to use 8.0.

Is there a workaround? And would there be a way to use pdfopen and pdfclose, which come with MikTex?

Martin.
MartinC
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Jan 17th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby TexyWolf on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Yeah, I noticed the same problem. I simply uninstalled Adobe 8.0 and reinstalled 7.0.8!

TexyWolf.
User avatar
TexyWolf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby dustbinbear on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

I experienced problems with adobe reader 8 too, I also noticed that some pdf files that used to look (the text) well in version 7, look pretty bad in adobe reader 8.

However I wouldn't be downgrading, as I heard recently about some major security flaw being found in previous version of adobe reader.

Probably use some other readers like foxit reader?
dustbinbear
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jan 17th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby dmonkey on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

This problem forced me to stop using Adobe Reader to preview my LaTeX documents. I now use the YAP program in the MiKTeX distribution. It integrates brilliantly with TeXnicCenter to let me do both forward and inverse search with my .dvi documents, which I can then convert to .pdf when I'm finished proofing. It saves a lot of hassle!

If you have the MiKTeX distro, I'd just say do away with Reader altogether!
dmonkey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby ADelm on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Not using Adobe Reader is not always possible, especially when you integrate drawings done with pgf/tikz.

What about using GhostView?
But I don't know about links between the original and the .pdf!

Regards,

Alain Delmotte
ADelm
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby TexyWolf on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

I've tried FoxitReader, and it certainly is *fast*, but there are a few things about it that drive me crazy!

The first is that it does not AFAIK have a "windowed" interface, so a new instance is opened for each PDF document which is opened.

The second frustration I have experienced is that it renders some documents with fonts which look terrible and are quite different from much-better-looking fonts when the file is displayed with Acrobat.

It is a useful application though, because it is one stand-alone EXE file which does not require installation and is about 10% of the size of Acrobat!

TexyWolf.
User avatar
TexyWolf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby Sven on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

MartinC wrote:DDE commands don't work very well with Adobe Reader 8.0. In particular, DocClose makes Reader crash. I had no problem with 7.0 but still I would like to use 8.0.

Is there a workaround? And would there be a way to use pdfopen and pdfclose, which come with MikTex?

Martin.


Hi Martin, I don't know anything about "pdfopen" and "pdfclose", but if these are simple command line tools, you can make TXC to call them instead of executing a DDE command. Simply do the following:
  • Choose menu "Build > Define Output Profiles..."
  • Select "LaTeX => PDF" in the list on the left
  • Select the "Viewer" tab on the right
  • Choose "Command line argument" in the relevant section on the right (i.e. "Close document...")
  • Enter the command line to be executed
That's it.
Attachments
closecmd.png
closecmd.png (9.11 KiB) Viewed 31112 times
LaTeX Community Administrator
Originator of TeXnicCenter
User avatar
Sven
Site Admin
 
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jan 13th, 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby TexyWolf on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

I stand corrected regarding FoxitReader. I see that version 2.0 has been released which supports a windowed multidocument interface. The fonts are still not perfect for all PDF documents, but I think they are much improved.

Regarding the previous post -- where can we find details of the command line parameters for Adobe Acrobat Reader 8.0? A Google search appears to reveal very little which is useful ... ?

TexyWolf.
User avatar
TexyWolf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby dmonkey on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Hi,

If you really need to use Adobe Reader, you can get TeXnicCenter to open the file without error quite easily by using a command line argument in the profiles window.

Image

All you can do for the close document field is tell it not to. You'll still have to remember to close the window after you're finished previewing, but opening documents should work.

There is another workaround however. Create a bare document in TeXnicCenter:

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{article}
\begin{document}
Blank page.
\end{document
}


Save it and use TeXnicCenter to build and open it in Reader. You should now be able to use Reader as you always have done for other files provided that this initial file stays open (it seems that only until all the documents opened by TeXnicCenter are closed that the program will actually crash).

I hope one of these methods is satisfactory for now, until Adobe sort this issue out.

P.S. I heard that this works fine on Adobe Reader Pro. Can anyone confirm that?
dmonkey
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Re: Problem with Adobe Reader 8.0

Postby TexyWolf on Thu Jan 18th, 2007

I just find it amazing that version 8.0 produces this problem, but not earlier versions. How is it possible to release a product that is not backwardly compatible with the previous version? Especially for something as "fundamental" as DDE commands.

Sigh.

TexyWolf.
User avatar
TexyWolf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 18th, 2007

Next

Return to Viewers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest