Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there are 5 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 4 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Add tags General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter

Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby rasole on Tue Feb 9th, 2010

Hi there,

I have recently changed from Vista 32bit to Windows 64bit, and Texniccenter is behaving very strange. When I e.g. write

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass[twocolumn]{article}

\title{This is the title}
\begin{document}
\maketitle
\end{document
}


it cannot open the compiled pdf-file and gives the warning [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")]. Nothing is wrong with the code, as it works perfectly on Vista 32bit. Do I need to install some other packages to the new OS? Thanks
rasole
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 11th, 2008

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby magicmoose on Wed Feb 10th, 2010

Post your log file and check the path to your viewer in the texniccenter build profile
magicmoose
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Nov 6th, 2009

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby rasole on Wed Feb 10th, 2010

This is the only content of the .log-file

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
This is pdfTeX, Version 3.1415926-1.40.10 (MiKTeX 2.8) (preloaded format=pdflatex 2010.1.2)  10 FEB 2010 09:49
entering extended mode
**D:/Forskning/articles/testarticle/main.tex
(D:/Forskning/articles/testarticle/main.tex
LaTeX2e <2009/09/24>
Babel <v3.8l> and hyphenation patterns for english, dumylang, nohyphenation, ge
rman, ngerman, german-x-2009-06-19, ngerman-x-2009-06-19, french, loaded.
("C:\Program Files (x86)\MiKTeX 2.8\tex\latex\base\report.cls"
Document Class: report 2007/10/19 v1.4h Standard LaTeX document class
("C:\Program Files (x86)\MiKTeX 2.8\tex\latex\base\size10.clo"
File: size10.clo 2007/10/19 v1.4h Standard LaTeX file (size option)
)
\c@part=\count79
\c@chapter=\count80
\c@section=\count81
\c@subsection=\count82
\c@subsubsection=\count83
\c@paragraph=\count84
\c@subparagraph=\count85
\c@figure=\count86
\c@table=\count87
\abovecaptionskip=\skip41
\belowcaptionskip=\skip42
\bibindent=\dimen102
)


It seems that the error occurs, when I add some usepackages like e.g. \usepackage{lipsum} to generate latin text. Is it an issue with MikTeX 2.8?
rasole
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 11th, 2008

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby localghost on Wed Feb 10th, 2010

Try to compile on the command line and see what happens.


Best regards
Thorsten
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby rasole on Thu Feb 11th, 2010

I have no idea how to do that? Can you provide some documentation?
rasole
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Oct 11th, 2008

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby magicmoose on Thu Feb 11th, 2010

Open the command prompt (google if you don't know how to do this) then navigate to the directory where your tex file is contained in by using cd directory then type latex filename.tex
magicmoose
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Nov 6th, 2009

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby localghost on Thu Feb 11th, 2010

rasole wrote:I have no idea how to do that? Can you provide some documentation?

Hm. Shouldn't you actually know how to handle your operating system? I rarely use Windows and my current system³ (XP) will be the last one. But magicmoose seemed to point you in the right direction.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby yoyoimut on Thu Feb 11th, 2010

rasole wrote:Hi there,

I have recently changed from Vista 32bit to Windows 64bit, and Texniccenter is behaving very strange. When I e.g. write

Do I need to install some other packages to the new OS? Thanks


I also use Win7 64 bit, but it works well.

My installation steps:

1. I need PSTricks so my conversion path must be LaTeX->PS->PDF.
Because of that, I install Active Perl 32 bit or Strawberry Perl 32 bit.
Unless you want to manually create output profile LaTeX->PS->PDF in TeXnicCenter later, don't install Perl 64 bit.

2. Install ghostscript 32 bit rather than 64 bit.

3. Install Adobe Acrobat Reader.

4. Install the newest Miktex.

5. Install TeXnicCenter, just follow the wizard.
You must set the compiler path to C:\Program Files (x86)\MiKTeX 2.8\miktex\bin

Done.


I hope it is usefull.


Thanks.
yoyoimut
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Oct 19th, 2009

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby localghost on Thu Feb 11th, 2010

yoyoimut wrote:[...] I need PSTricks so my conversion path must be LaTeX->PS->PDF.
Because of that, I install Active Perl 32 bit or Strawberry Perl 32 bit.
Unless you want to manually create output profile LaTeX->PS->PDF in TeXnicCenter later, don't install Perl 64 bit. [...]

I don't see the correlation between pstricks and the necessity of a Perl interpreter when using this build profile.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Texniccenter and Windows 7, 64-bit

Postby yoyoimut on Sun Feb 14th, 2010

localghost wrote:I don't see the correlation between pstricks and the necessity of a Perl interpreter when using this build profile.



I am sorry. You are right.

I installed Perl for pdfcrop.pl which I sometimes use to crop pdf.
It is irrelevant, so just skip the step 1.



Thank you.
yoyoimut
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Oct 19th, 2009

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests