LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralEPS images

General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter
fratata
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:33 pm

EPS images

Postby fratata » Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:42 pm

Hello

I don't know why my TeXnic Center doesn't accept *.EPS figures.


It says that it is an unknown file format... why?


I need to use *.eps images because with *.jpeg the quality would be lost.


Thank you

Fra

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

klumpp
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 11:01 am

Postby klumpp » Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:04 pm

Did you load the graphicx package with \usepackage{graphicx} in the header?

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

fratata
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 1:33 pm

Postby fratata » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:58 pm

sure i did...

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Kris
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Frankfurt (Main), Germany

Postby Kris » Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:54 am

Hi Fra,

can You give us an example of the error-code
and Your compiling-route?

something like:

  1. \documentclass{article}
  2. \usepackage{graphicx}
  3. \begin{document}
  4. \begin{figure}
  5. \centering
  6. \includegraphics{test}
  7. \end{figure}
  8. \end{document}

compiled via LaTeX => DVI ...

Remember, EPS only works with the following compiling routes:
LaTeX => DVI
LaTeX => PS
LaTeX => PS => PDF


but not with LaTeX => PDF !!!

Greetings
Kris

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

EAGLE505
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:51 pm

Postby EAGLE505 » Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:55 am

I encountered a similar problem. How do I enable compile routine Latex=>PS=>PDF?

I found the wizard in Build, Define Output Profiles.

The wizard built LaTeX=>PS=>PDF;

Latex=>PS=>PDF died in dvips. Dvips indicated the folllowing error:
  1. This is dvips(k) 5.95b Copyright 2005 Radical Eye Software (www.radicaleye.com)
  2. ' TeX output 2007.03.08:2313' -> GrphB.ps
  3. <tex.pro><texps.pro><special.pro>. <cmr10.pfb><cmbx12.pfb>[1<clocklcopy.eps>
  4. dvips: Could not find figure file ../IMG/clocklcopy.eps; continuing
  5. ]



Question I don't know why dvips couldnt find the same file that LaTex used to build GaphB.dvi.


That's it for tonight.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
Kris
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 4:04 pm
Location: Frankfurt (Main), Germany

Postby Kris » Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:11 am

Hi EAGLE!

Have You tried to put clocklcopy.eps in the same directory
as Your tex-file(s)? There is a security problem with relative paths
for the standard call of dvips...

But You can add the option -R0 to the dvips call, which allows relative
paths...

Have fun!

Kris

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

Paulo
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:28 pm

Postby Paulo » Mon Mar 12, 2007 6:48 pm

Hi, as posted by Kris, you can't generate latex => pdf using eps figures.

There are many solutions, but one is to convert you eps figure to pdf using a program called epstopdf
http://www.ctan.org/tex-archive/help/Ca ... topdf.html

You will need Ghostscript to be installed.

Paulo.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

EAGLE505
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:51 pm

Postby EAGLE505 » Tue Mar 13, 2007 6:23 am

Smile
Keeping the eps file in the same directory as the source code fixed the problem.
Thanks to all especially Kris.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

jinx_the_minky
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 4:54 pm

Postby jinx_the_minky » Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:04 pm

hey

i have been have the problem the first guy had, it will not show any picyures in a pdf file, it says Unknown graphics extension: .eps.

i belive it is because i have a Latex => PDF only set up but i have been unable to get the wizard or manuale produce Latex => PS => PDF so if some one could help that would be great??????

on my computer it produced the Latex => PS => PDF automaticly but i am using my parents and have just installed texnicCentre and i will not do it.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

sdbrad
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 11:51 pm

Postby sdbrad » Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:01 am

I am having this problem as well.

How can I produce "LaTeX=>PS=>PDF"?

-sdbrad

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests