Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there is 1 user online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 1 guest (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

EPS images

Add tags General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter

EPS images

Postby fratata on Wed Feb 21st, 2007

Hello

I don't know why my TeXnic Center doesn't accept *.EPS figures.


It says that it is an unknown file format... why?


I need to use *.eps images because with *.jpeg the quality would be lost.


Thank you

Fra
fratata
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21st, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby klumpp on Wed Feb 21st, 2007

Did you load the graphicx package with \usepackage{graphicx} in the header?
klumpp
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Jan 15th, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby fratata on Wed Feb 21st, 2007

sure i did...
fratata
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21st, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby Kris on Thu Feb 22nd, 2007

Hi Fra,

can You give us an example of the error-code
and Your compiling-route?

something like:

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{article}
\usepackage{graphicx}
\begin{document}
\begin{figure}
        \centering
                \includegraphics{test}
\end{figure}
\end{document
}

compiled via LaTeX => DVI ...

Remember, EPS only works with the following compiling routes:
LaTeX => DVI
LaTeX => PS
LaTeX => PS => PDF


but not with LaTeX => PDF !!!

Greetings
Kris
User avatar
Kris
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 14th, 2007
Location: Frankfurt (Main), Germany

Re: EPS images

Postby EAGLE505 on Fri Mar 9th, 2007

I encountered a similar problem. How do I enable compile routine Latex=>PS=>PDF?

I found the wizard in Build, Define Output Profiles.

The wizard built LaTeX=>PS=>PDF;

Latex=>PS=>PDF died in dvips. Dvips indicated the folllowing error:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
This is dvips(k) 5.95b Copyright 2005 Radical Eye Software (www.radicaleye.com)
' TeX output 2007.03.08:2313' -> GrphB.ps
<tex.pro><texps.pro><special.pro>. <cmr10.pfb><cmbx12.pfb>[1<clocklcopy.eps>
dvips: Could not find figure file ../IMG/clocklcopy.eps; continuing
]



Question I don't know why dvips couldnt find the same file that LaTex used to build GaphB.dvi.


That's it for tonight.
EAGLE505
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 8th, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby Kris on Fri Mar 9th, 2007

Hi EAGLE!

Have You tried to put clocklcopy.eps in the same directory
as Your tex-file(s)? There is a security problem with relative paths
for the standard call of dvips...

But You can add the option -R0 to the dvips call, which allows relative
paths...

Have fun!

Kris
User avatar
Kris
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Jan 14th, 2007
Location: Frankfurt (Main), Germany

Re: EPS images

Postby Paulo on Mon Mar 12th, 2007

Hi, as posted by Kris, you can't generate latex => pdf using eps figures.

There are many solutions, but one is to convert you eps figure to pdf using a program called epstopdf
http://www.ctan.org/tex-archive/help/Ca ... topdf.html

You will need Ghostscript to be installed.

Paulo.
Paulo
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 16th, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby EAGLE505 on Tue Mar 13th, 2007

Smile
Keeping the eps file in the same directory as the source code fixed the problem.
Thanks to all especially Kris.
EAGLE505
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 8th, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby jinx_the_minky on Thu Mar 29th, 2007

hey

i have been have the problem the first guy had, it will not show any picyures in a pdf file, it says Unknown graphics extension: .eps.

i belive it is because i have a Latex => PDF only set up but i have been unable to get the wizard or manuale produce Latex => PS => PDF so if some one could help that would be great??????

on my computer it produced the Latex => PS => PDF automaticly but i am using my parents and have just installed texnicCentre and i will not do it.
jinx_the_minky
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 29th, 2007

Re: EPS images

Postby sdbrad on Mon Apr 30th, 2007

I am having this problem as well.

How can I produce "LaTeX=>PS=>PDF"?

-sdbrad
sdbrad
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 29th, 2007

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest