LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralTexnicCenter will not produce a .dvi file

General information and discussion about TeXnicCenter
lightningbug
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:24 pm

TexnicCenter will not produce a .dvi file

Postby lightningbug » Thu Jun 10, 2010 4:27 am

I just downloaded the most current software to a new laptop that I will be writing my thesis on. I installed Miktex 2.8 first, then TexnicCenter. I went through the Build menu setup wizard to define where Miktex 2.8 was and where the YAPS viewer was.

I started with the simplest simpledoctest.tex file, here is the code:
  1. \documentclass[12pt,letterpaper,oneside]{book}
  2. \usepackage{enpThesis}
  3. \begin{document}
  4. The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
  5. \end{document}

I put the style file(enpThesis.sty) in the same folder as the simpledoctest.tex.
I navigate to the Build menu with the simpledoctest.tex in the editor, and mouse to current file/build and view.

I get the following error message:
Windows API error 2: The system cannot find the file specified.
C:\Latex\Dissertation\simpledoctest.dvi

Any ideas why it will not produce a .dvi output file? Thanks in advance, I know it must be something really simple....

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

MartinC
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:09 pm

Postby MartinC » Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:39 am

There must be something wrong with your build settings. Maybe you should post them here so someone can help you.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

lightningbug
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 09, 2010 8:24 pm

Postby lightningbug » Fri Jun 11, 2010 6:41 pm

I assumed there may have been something wrong with my TexnicCenter installation (version 1 stable), so I installed TexnicCenter version 2 alpha 3 unstable. When I went to compile, the newer version told me that my MikTex2.8 installation was missing some .sty files from the random package repository. So it downloaded them as needed, and then it compiled! My prospectus is alive! I fired up the TexnicCenter version 1.0 stable editor, and it worked in that environment also. So I think the ultimate problem was in my MikTex2.8 install. It was very nice of the unstable alpha version to tell me what was missing and to go out and grab it. I think I will use the alpha version and save my work often.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

aminfar
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:20 am

Postby aminfar » Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:21 am

I was having the same problem and I didn't figure it out. But I rolled back to Miktex 2.6 and the older version worked just fine.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Tue Jul 20, 2010 9:34 am

aminfar wrote:I was having the same problem and I didn't figure it out. But I rolled back to Miktex 2.6 and the older version worked just fine.

This problem is described on the MiKTeX homepage [1]. Rolling back to MiKTeX 2.6 is far from being recommendable since it will reach its end of life by the end of this year.

[1] MiKTeX 2.8 Issues


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest