Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there are 6 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 5 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

Problem with BABEL

Add tags Information and discussion about page layout specific issues (e.g. header and footer lines, page formats, page numbers).

Problem with BABEL

Postby vortex3 on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Hello,

I added this command to my LATEX document

usepackage[spanish,activeacute]{babel}

However, after this the page numbres (lowcase roman number) changed to upcase, and I can't change them. I already used the \pagenumbering{roman} command but it doesn't work. I don't know what else to do.

Anyone has any idea of the reason or solution of this problem?

Thank you very much
vortex3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby gmedina on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Hi,

since lower case roman numerals are typographically incorrect in Spanish, the author of the spanish option for babel (Javier Bezos) disabled their use when loading babel with Spanish as the main language: see
http://www.tex-tipografia.com/spanish2.html (section Números romanos en versalitas (Roman numerals in smallcaps)).
However, you can recover the lower case roman numerals with the es-lcroman option:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\begin{document}

\frontmatter

blah blah

\end{document
}
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
User avatar
gmedina
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11th, 2007
Location: Colombia

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby vortex3 on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Thank you very much for your help. I chech the link and try that solution, however, It still doesn't work. I also try to write

\roman{page}

And I get the Upcase roman lettle.

Any suggestion?
vortex3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby gmedina on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

vortex3 wrote:...I chech the link and try that solution, however, It still doesn't work...

Well, the code I posted works OK (at least on my system). Try the following test code:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document
}

Do you get lower case roman numerals for the page numbering? If not, then please add
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\listfiles

just before
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{book}

to the above code, compile the code and post (as an attachment) the .log file obtained. (Remark: the \listfiles command will only write in the .log file a list of the used packages and their versions, that will help us to detect where the problem is).
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
User avatar
gmedina
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11th, 2007
Location: Colombia

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby vortex3 on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Hello.

I try everything and it still doesn't work.

Here is the log file that you asked.

Thank you very much for your help.
Attachments
Libro R2.log
(20.07 KiB) Downloaded 96 times
vortex3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby localghost on Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Have you ever taken a look at this log file? It is full of error messages. Fix these errors first and then check whether the problem still occurs. The warnings concerning floats can be avoided by giving [!ht] to all floats as placement parameters.


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby vortex3 on Tue Jan 13th, 2009

Thank you very much.

First of all, I unistalled the babel packet and than instaled again just in case. After that, I remove the babel packet from my project and fixed all the errors. But, when I add again the babel packet, 4 error messages appear (extrange message like: Missing \begin{document}, and I can't fix them). I add the new log file. Althoug the roman number now appear in lowcase, in the outfile (DVI) there is a first page with 3 lines tike this:


1
english
spanish

After this page there are the pages of my document.

Anybody have any idea?

Thank you very much.
Attachments
Libro R2.log
(14.27 KiB) Downloaded 81 times
vortex3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby gmedina on Tue Jan 13th, 2009

Hi,

please try compiling first the code that I posted before:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\listfiles
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute,es-lcroman]{babel}

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document
}

and report the outcome. In case of error messages, please report them and attach the corresponding .log file (it is necessary to check if with the just installed version of babel this minimal code compiles OK or not; then we can examine what the problem might be with your actual document).

In case my example code compiles OK but your actual document still doesn't, then please report this situation and then buid a minimal working example (instructions can be found following the link I just provided) showing the undesired behaviour and post it.
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
User avatar
gmedina
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11th, 2007
Location: Colombia

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby vortex3 on Tue Jan 13th, 2009

Hello,

It doesn't compile. It have the same problem and error message that mine.

I attach the output file and the log file.

Thank you very much
Attachments
prueba.pdf
(7.87 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
prueba.log
(5.22 KiB) Downloaded 92 times
vortex3
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 12th, 2009

Re: Problem with BABEL

Postby gmedina on Tue Jan 13th, 2009

To be honest, I am a little confused now. Let's try another approach. Please save the following simple test document as miprueba.tex or similar (preferably using a name that you haven't used for any other .tex file) and compile it in the usual way:
Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\listfiles
\documentclass{book}
\usepackage[spanish,activeacute]{babel
}
%\spanishlcroman

\renewcommand{\thepage}{\roman{page}}

\begin{document}

some test text
\newpage
some test text

\end{document
}

There shouldn't be any problems. Inform us about the outcome; wheter the compilation went OK or if error messages appeared.

Now delete all the auxiliar files (myprueba.log, miprueba.aux), and activate the \spanishlcroman command by simply deleting the "%" symbol. Compile the document once more and let us know the result.
1,1,2,3,5,8,13,21,34,55,89,144,233,...
User avatar
gmedina
 
Posts: 2313
Joined: Wed Jul 11th, 2007
Location: Colombia

Next

Return to Page Layout

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests