LaTeX forum ⇒ GeneralHelp on adding keywords to a latex paper

LaTeX specific issues not fitting into one of the other forums of this category.
shantoos
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:22 am

Help on adding keywords to a latex paper

Postby shantoos » Wed Oct 15, 2008 3:44 pm

Hey I am submitting an ICASSP paper and they require a Keyword section, I wonder how I can add my keywords under a separate section after the abstract, I'd appreciate your early replies as today is my deadline!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

spiegboy
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:58 am

Postby spiegboy » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:33 pm

{\bf Keywords:} keyword A, keyword B,...

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

shantoos
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:22 am

Postby shantoos » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:41 pm

worked like a charm, thanks

I tried \begin{Keywords} .... \end{Keywords} but it failed, do you have any idea why? maybe it wasn't supported in .sty file? sorry for nooob questions!

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:22 pm

I suggest to take a look at the Template section of the ICASSP web site [1]. There you can find the source code (Template.tex) as well as a BibTeX style file and a demo PDF file showing the final output. From the source you can see how keywords are inserted. The list of keywords is produced by the keywords environment (be aware of case sensitivity!). The keyword list will appear in the final output right after the abstract starting with "Index Terms".

[1] ICASSP 2008 Paper Kit - Templates


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

eerie1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:44 pm

Postby eerie1972 » Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:59 pm

hello, here's what i get:

Environment keywords undefined. \begin{keywords} ...

in what package is keywords defined? spconf?

thanks.

ps: also need help with \classification (what package?)

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:06 pm

eerie1972 wrote:[...] Environment keywords undefined. \begin{keywords} ...

in what package is keywords defined? [...]

The keywords environment is defined within spconf.sty that is included into the template file. I can compile the mentioned file Template.tex when placing the file spconf.sty (and the other files) in the same directory. And I don't get any errors. To clarify this issue, create a minimal working example (MWE) or use Template.tex and attach the log file of your compilation process to your next reply.


Best regards and welcome to the board
Thorsten¹
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

eerie1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:44 pm

Postby eerie1972 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:44 am

Thank You.

Yes, it works by adding spconf to the current directory. However,
1) it does not work if I put spconf in the $BSTINPUTS directory alone.
2) spconf completely overrides the layout of documentclass{article}. in particular, there are now two columns.
3) and how about AMS classification?

Regarding 2) I ommit usepackage{spconf} and I just copy pasted the definition of keywords in spconf and put (with modifications) in the preamble:

\def\keywords{\vspace{.5em}
{\textit{Keywords}:\,\relax%
}}
\def\endkeywords{\par}

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
Posts: 9206
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:06 pm
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Postby localghost » Thu Oct 16, 2008 9:06 am

eerie1972 wrote:1) it does not work if I put spconf in the $BSTINPUTS directory alone.

Putting *.sty files into the BibTeX input directory makes no sense since this kind of files are "packages" and have to be put into the texmf tree as usual.
eerie1972 wrote:2) spconf completely overrides the layout of documentclass{article}. in particular, there are now two columns.

Submitting a paper to the ICASSP may demand the usage of this package. It is not provided in vain and guarantees that all prerequisites regarding the layout are fulfilled.
eerie1972 wrote:3) and how about AMS classification?

What do you mean with "classification" in this context? Be more precise.
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests