LaTeX forum ⇒ Generalproblem to use URW Classico font (Optima clone) on Windows

LaTeX specific issues not fitting into one of the other forums of this category.
esther
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: berlin

problem to use URW Classico font (Optima clone) on Windows

Postby esther » Fri Oct 24, 2008 6:50 pm

The problem:

I´m working with Latex on Windows XP (with Miktex), and I have the following problem: I must use the URW Classico font (clone of Optima). I cautiously followed the installation instructions given in the readme.classico file of Bob Tennent (see http://www.ctan.org/tex-archive/fonts/u ... E.classico), but without success.

My editor complains in the following way:

"Trying to make PK font "uopr8r" (at 657 DPI)...
"makemf" --verbose "uopr8r"
"ttf2pk" -q -t "uopr8r"
makepk: "uopr8r.pk" could not be created
Warning. pdflatex (file uopr8r): Font uopr8r at 657 not found"


Has anyone an idea?

Best

Esther

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

balf
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:11 am

Postby balf » Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:04 pm

Did you check whether your fonts are mentioned in psfonts.map (the one in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\dvips\config\)? Do you have a local updmap.cfg in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\miktex\config\?

B.A.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

esther
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: berlin

Postby esther » Sat Oct 25, 2008 10:13 pm

Hello Balf,


thanks a lot for your answer.

balf wrote:Do you have a local updmap.cfg in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\miktex\config\?


yes, I created it as given in the instructions. Actually, I´m a bit puzzled because I have a miktex config file at two different places:

C:\texmf\miktex\config
C:\localtexmf\miktex\config

(I don´t know why and I don´t know either if it´s a bad thing)
So I have a updmap.cfg file in each of these config files.

balf wrote:Did you check whether your fonts are mentioned in psfonts.map (the one in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\dvips\config\)?B.A.


I found a psfonts.map file in the following places:

C:\localtexmf\dvipdfm\config
C:\localtexmf\dvips\config
C:\localtexmf\pdftex\config

(and no copy under C:\texmf)

I opened them and found no mention of uop fonts.

I guess it´s a problem? Do you have an idea of what I could do?

Best

Esther

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

balf
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 1:11 am

Postby balf » Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:21 am

It certainly IS a problem since neither dvips nor pdflatex can't find the type 1 fonts if they aren't mentioned in that file and its friends. That's why miktex desperately tries to make bitmap fonts (the .pk's). What puzzles me is that you don't mentionC:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\...
Which version of MiKTeX do you have? It's important because the procedure has changed since version 2.6 as far as I can remember. Also: after installing the fonts in the relevant localtexmf directories, did you launch from the command line:
initexmf --mkmaps? It's the way to make a brand new psfonts.map and friends.

Regards,
B.A.

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links

esther
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: berlin

Postby esther » Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:32 pm

balf wrote:It certainly IS a problem since neither dvips nor pdflatex can't find the type 1 fonts if they aren't mentioned in that file and its friends. That's why miktex desperately tries to make bitmap fonts (the .pk's). What puzzles me is that you don't mentionC:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\MiKTeX\2.7\...
Which version of MiKTeX do you have? It's important because the procedure has changed since version 2.6 as far as I can remember. Also: after installing the fonts in the relevant localtexmf directories, did you launch from the command line:
initexmf --mkmaps? It's the way to make a brand new psfonts.map and friends.

Regards,
B.A.


Hallo Balf,

Thank you SO much!!! This was indeed the problem. After launching the command line you indicated (if I´m right, it´s not on the instruction file of the relevant package), everything is running fine now.
Thanks a bunch again!

Best

Esther

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests