Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there are 3 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 3 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

customising 'apacite.bst'

Add tags Information and discussion about BiBTeX - the bibliography tool for LaTeX documents.

customising 'apacite.bst'

Postby scooterb on Wed Jan 12th, 2011

Thanks in advance for helping me with this problem.

I use apacite package a lot, and it makes a Harvard-style bibliography. I want to make just one change: remove the \newline that is put between items in the bibliography list (so they appear as a dense block of ugly text!).

I thought this might do it:
\setlength{\bibitemsep}{0mm}

But it doesn't. I think I need to edit the .bst file, but I've never done that before. Any hints for me?

Thanks again.

Scott.
scooterb

Re: customising 'apacite.bst'

Postby frabjous on Wed Jan 12th, 2011

All right, I'll try to give you hints. Firstly, "apacite.bst" is not a package, it is a bibliography style. However, there is also a package called "apacite" (apacite.sty). Separate from this, there is also a harvard package, and six different harvard styles, and you also mentioned harvard. So it is very unclear what your document is like.

My next hint is that it will be impossible to provide help in this case unless you produce a minimal working example showing your usage.

I tried the following:

Code: Select all  •  Open in writeLaTeX
\documentclass{article}
\usepackage{apacite}
\begin{document}
\cite{sample1,sample2}
\bibliographystyle{apacite}
\bibliography{sample}
\end{document
}