Featured Book

LaTeX Beginners Guide

Who is online

In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 1327 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:11 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Partner Sites

TeXwelt - Fragen und Antworten goLaTeX
TeXblog
TeXnicCenter
TeXample

Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error Topic is solved

AcrobatAdobe-ReaderTeXnicCenterAdd tags Information and discussion about output viewers related to LaTeX (e.g. Adobe Reader, Ghostview, YAP, ...)

Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Neverwinterx on Sat Nov 20th, 2010

I've just installed the new Adobe Reader 10 (or Adobe Reader X as it is also called) and I'm trying to view a PDF file from within TexnicCenter. I've changed the path to the new AcroRd32.exe in "define output profiles" in the tab "viewer". When I click on "View Output" in TexnicCenter, Adobe Reader 10 opens but not the pdf file itself: it's just the standard opening screen of Adobe Reader 10. Also TexnicCenter itself stops responding for a while and then shows the "[DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")] Cannot execute the command." dialog. The other settings in "define output profiles" were left the same as before: DDE command, [DocOpen("%bm.pdf")][FileOpen("%bm.pdf")], server: acroview, topic: control. Manually opening the PDF file with Adobe Reader 10 goes fine of course.

I'm using Windows 7 (32 bit), TexnicCenter 1.0 stable RC1 and MiKTeX 2.9.
Last edited by Neverwinterx on Sat Nov 27th, 2010, edited 1 time in total.
Neverwinterx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 20th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

I can confirme the problem. Anyone know a source, where to get a setup of the old 9.X version?
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby hsb27 on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

I also experienced this problem. I downloaded version 9.4, which is available here:

http://get.adobe.com/uk/reader/otherversions/
hsb27
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Neverwinterx on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

build - define output profiles - latex => pdf - viewer
Changing "View project's output" and "Forward Search" to "Command line argument" with the command: %bm.pdf works.
(And don't forget to change the path of executable to the new AcroRd32.exe)
Neverwinterx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 20th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Klaus on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

That does not work for me.

Although, Acroread starts, it does not open the file directly, but I have to select it manually from the recent list
Klaus
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Klaus on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Ok, my mistake, it works. I was being too impatient, and the new Acroread confused me. Although the recent list shows up, Acroread is loading the document and it opens with several seconds delay.
Klaus
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby localghost on Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Neverwinterx wrote:build - define output profiles - latex => pdf - viewer
Changing "View project's output" and "Forward Search" to "Command line argument" with the command: %bm.pdf works.
(And don't forget to change the path of executable to the new AcroRd32.exe)

If that solves the problem, you can mark the topic. Otherwise please tell us what is missing.


Thorsten
LaTeX Community Moderator
How to make a "Minimal Example"
Board Rules
Avoidable Mistakes


¹ System: openSUSE 13.1 (Linux 3.11.10), TeX Live 2013 (vanilla), TeXworks 0.5 (r1351)
² Posting stopped indefinitely due to offenses
User avatar
localghost
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 9219
Joined: Fri Feb 2nd, 2007
Location: Braunschweig, Germany

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Tue Nov 23rd, 2010

Hi this seems to work as a poor walkaround.

Neverwinterx wrote:build - define output profiles - latex => pdf - viewer
Changing "View project's output" and "Forward Search" to "Command line argument" with the command: %bm.pdf works.
(And don't forget to change the path of executable to the new AcroRd32.exe)


But never the less you will have to close your pdf file before recompiling your tex file.
Does anyone know what changed in version X of the acrobate reader?
Why did the DDE commands stoped working?
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby Neverwinterx on Tue Nov 23rd, 2010

localghost wrote:
Neverwinterx wrote:build - define output profiles - latex => pdf - viewer
Changing "View project's output" and "Forward Search" to "Command line argument" with the command: %bm.pdf works.
(And don't forget to change the path of executable to the new AcroRd32.exe)

If that solves the problem, you can mark the topic. Otherwise please tell us what is missing.


Thorsten


As the poster above says, this is a workaround. An explanation, or even better a solution, for why the DDE commands aren't working would be better. You should get off your high horse by the way.
Neverwinterx
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 20th, 2010

Re: Adobe Reader 10 and viewing error

Postby nca on Tue Nov 23rd, 2010

Hi all,
I just found an identical question in the adobe forums:

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/754697?tstart=0
nca
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 22nd, 2010

Next

Topic Tags

AcrobatAdobe-ReaderTeXnicCenter

Return to Viewers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests